Being Mumbaikar – Life 2 years in Mumbai

The Best Place...The Best Symbol Of Mumbai

Being Mumbaikar – Life 2 years in Mumbai

2 whole years completed in Mumbai..doesn’t seem like a big accomplishment, but for me it’s a big one… not my fault for being born and bought up in the susegaad place..i meant Goa…4th august I get a call from my director..he says..”pack ur bags lad..ur gonna come to Mumbai and work under my nose”..nothing particular abt him..big fat ass full of crap..but then I liked the idea of coming to Mumbai and meeting my frens tat have been working here and the whole idea of meeting them after a year was interesting itself..so I said OK..

The day I reached Mumbai i.e. 5th august .. well I must say I don’t think I’l be ever be able to forget it.. damn straight..got lost in vashi searching for my head office..well not my fault I thought the head office would have been bigger in size..so was a bit disappointed seeing a smaller office..but then wat the hell it’s my office..so I was hoping to have fun… and fun indeed I had… new cubicle…old files..and constant threatening from the director ughhh…I hated myself for coming here.. Colleagues wer nice. .but couldn’t bond with them much as there was a contant change in the employees..they came they worked for a month and left.. few of us wer stubborn enuf to work constantly there..needless to say I was one of them.. becoz I knew..i was gonna go places.. speaking of employees no one really clicked..except for one hot Bengali chick… I used to call her monjolika…constantly fighting and arguing..and well the lunch she brought from home was really amazing..Especially the sandwich…mmmm… can still feel the taste..

Neways..i decided to travel from office to home in train.. well..i was shit-scared but then..i had to one day..enter vashi station..hmm ok.. not bad.. nice.. took tickets.. reached thane from wer I had to change station..thane station was totally opposite of vashi..

There was madness mayhem and disastrous crowd everywhere running here and there.. there was nothing like crowd management..trains came spat out its load … and swallowed more fresh load in.. it was sickening..i felt nauseating standing there and watching the whole process.. I waited out till I thot I got my less crowded train.. reached home dropped dead on my bed..and missed my office next day…somehow I grit my teeth and started travelling in train on regular basis and got used to it in few months….  I remember one incident ..i had come to goa for a week’s vacation..i had got down at Madgaon station and I was literally walking fast on the platform after I had pushed 3rd person and wen I was that I was getting angry stares from people I told myself “dude..u r in goa…slow down… enjoy every step..SUSEGAAD… don’t have to rush everywhere like in mumbai..”

So finally I got my sweet ride to Mumbai my BIKE my first asset…. And on the very first day I jumped 5 signals….safely… well not my fault there is not a single traffic signal in Goa….later on I understood the concept of signals..neways…traveling was way much easier and fun on my bike…whizzing past the standstill traffic… well rest is working hard on weekdays …partying harder on weekends..frens are real gem here…they never made me miss my family…my roommates..wer my brothers… becoz galti se roomies ko roommates bol diya toh they get pissed off saying “we r brothers…not roomies”..

They showed me around Mumbai..discs..hangout places..my night life had completely changed..and best of all…new gals to meet and u know hangout… first year in Mumbai was soooo much fun.. had fun at work thanks to the o-sum colleagues …had fun at home thanks to the BROTHERS….had fun at parties thanks to BROTHER’s friends…

My first company took me to places… experienced flight for the first time … went to delhi…freezed my ass to death doing work there… stupid estimates…working with Colonels and Majors over the defence project…smuggling lappys and phones inside the base while other consultants had to leave them outside at the gate.. it was fun…wen the uncles from the other consultancy at the base saw us youngsters using our phone and all…they came asking how we did it and all…all we did was just wink at them..

I remember one particular day in my life….tat was heights of travelling …

15th april I drank my 4 am coffee in mumbai airport…had my breakfast in delhi…lunch in Baroda (Gujrat) …evening snacks in Mumbai…and finally my dinner in Goa..at my home… I loved that day.. I had never loved travelling so much…my wishes for travelling the country wer finally coming true…well not as tourists but as professional..but whatever..i did not complain… and I liked it.. travelling all the time.. a week in delhi a week in Baroda..a week in Mumbai…a week in goa.. well life was going on its full swing.. directors wer happy …got 4 promotions in 5 months.. everyone acknowledged me ….no. of frens were increasing…amongst all this I had a small fear..wen will the bad things start… well wen everything is going on gud…there is something bad to happen..sure it did…

My 2nd year in Mumbai…tis I’l call as my struggling year in Mumbai …my company had some shortcomings in its capital…the money was running out.. most of the employees wer not paid their salary.. heck I was not paid my 2 months’ salary and my travelling reimbursement was yet to be approved…all in all it was around 45k..and living in mumbai without salary is a terrible thing…my savings wer running low…I had no choice but to lie to the director about a urgent self medical emergency.. got all my money.. took a month’s leave.. after a month I wrote a resignation mail..the director calls me up and I did not respond to his call after few days I call him up and explain my situation..he doesn’t say ne thing and hangs up.. so on 10thJuly 2010 I closed my chapter of life in my first company..

After that my life was like a downhill ride…bumpy ride..scratched the soul out of my body…unemployed for 2 months..staying at home drove me crazy…took up some freelancing projects…some wer gud and clicked but most of the wer un-reasonable..so couldn’t carry on..was waiting for interview calls..no one was hiring..and I was loosing hope everyday..then 1 dayi get a interview call …it was a builder company … I went for the interview…got the job… and I had to break my rule “never work with builders..always be on commercial projects”…I was so desperate that I had to take up the job any ways… the pay was ok..lesser than the previous company but then I get to sit in office instead of sitting whole day at home..

Had to see a lot of bad days in my 2nd year of Mumbai…fought with one of my brothers…to till this day I regret that one day in my life,…the day wen I lost my brother because of my stupidity ..to add on to it…my relation was goin haphazard …I had no control over my life…I wanted it so desperately to improve but no matter how much I tried it kept goin down…I was getting frustrated… loosing my frens my brothers… my life had become all work and no party… I had almost survived a nervous breakdown.. my new company was sucking blood out of me… I was loosing weight …hair fall had started.. cried so many nights… but all this time I always had a hope…one day..one day…sab fine ho jaayega..

I worked 72 hours straight…the only reason being I did not like goin back to my new home.. new roommates…yes no more brothers..all I had was roomies.. my colleague dragged my ass back to my home and told me to stay at house for 2 days… somehow I survived it.. to this day m thankful to him for being strict wit me…

Well life straightened out a bit after that..i started getting private projects… some went for a loss… which I m still working on..but I could feel things steadying up..but my struggle still continues… got in touch wit old frens… well one particular fren… DODO..my brother.. always trippin..well most of the time..bindaas..lookin at her i found the bindaas me…and i cant forget to mention Daboo saala …..neways started going to places again… started making new frens…still hating my roomies… and latest of all attented my best and only buddy monjolika’s wedding.. which cheered me up a bit.. and recharged me.

Well cant say life has straightned out..but definitely I found a new me fighting the problems….and my struggle continues.. as my 2nd year gets completed in Mumbai..and I’l keep struggling till I straighten my life out..not gonna give up…and on 5th August 2012 m definitely  gonna celebrate my third year in Mumbai with a BIG BOOM.

CHEERS..  🙂


22 thoughts on “Being Mumbaikar – Life 2 years in Mumbai

  1. hey thats a gud wrk.. cud relate to it at sm pts.. like gng to goa aftr a month of job frm mumbai..my exp ws almst same as urs…. thn loved d sentense, “trains came spat out its load … and swallowed more fresh load in: ..it sounded like a zombie movie’s dialogu.. n wud hv sounded more if u had used d wrd “FLESH” instead of “LOAD”
    bt felt bad wen u wrote abt losin ur Brothers..that wud hv been hard on soul, losin ppl u live wid n for… newy on a whole it ws a real nice read…
    adios!!

    Like

    1. Thanks… 🙂 hahaha…likedd ur idea of flesh instead of load… 😉 tat really makes the situation ugghhh and more imaginable.. thanks for the pointers..appreciate it a lot.. 🙂

      Like

  2. realy nice one… life is ‘kabhi khushi kabhi gham’ :)..when u happy enjoy to the fullest , n when ur sad rember things dosen’t remain the same,time heals everything..:)

    Like

  3. hey… thts mumbai for all of us… u can hate it, u can love it, but u jus cant leave it!!! i sooooo miss tht place!!! 😦

    Like

Leave a comment